Nominations and Awards

The 2021 Scholarship Presentation Ceremony was held August 12, via zoom.  
No Award nominations were received so there are no recipients for 2021.  

Congratulations Moeko and Emily! 

2021 Cynd M. Treser Memorial Scholarship Recipients 

Moeko Agata, University of Washington

My ideal plan upon graduation is to attend graduate school to get an MS in Environmental Health or Epidemiology before starting my professional career at an organization that works to prevent preventable diseases in Washington by improving the daily lives of those living here.

 - excerpt from scholarship application

Emily Marvin, Whitworth University

Upon my graduating from WU, I plan on applying to the University of Washington's Masters in Environmental Health program. I am hoping that the research [influence of pollution in the Spokane River on the riparian environments and ramifications]. I am completing in my undergraduate work will benefit me in applying to this program. After this, I plan on remaining in Washington State and working for a state or non profit organization in the field of Environmental Health. Though my background is in Biology and English, I am very interested in the policy and legal side of Environmental Health. I am hopeful as well to be able to find a job where these passions go well together.

 - excerpt from scholarship application


It is the policy of the Washington State Environmental Health Association that every effort shall be made to identify and reward deserving environmental health practitioners through special recognition by their peers.


These awards shall be presented annually, (provided a qualified candidate is nominated and selected) during the WSEHA Annual Educational Conference (AEC).


The Nominations and Awards Committee consists of eight or more members: the President Elect, Regional Vice Presidents, and two members at large, chosen by the Committee Chair.  Primary responsibility for the identification and selection of qualified candidates shall rest with the Nominations & Awards Committee. The Committee shall solicit nominations for each of the awards of the Association except the Jack B. Hatlen Presidents' Award.  The Nominations & Awards Committee shall consider the merits of each of the candidates so nominated, and make recommendations to the Board regarding the award of such honors.  Final selection of the candidates for the awards of the Association shall be made by the action of the Board of Directors, with the exception of the Jack B. Hatlen Presidents' Award.  The selection of the candidate for the Presidents' Award rests with the current WSEHA President, President-Elect, and Immediate Past President.


All members of the Association are eligible to be nominated for any of the awards, with the exception of the officers and elected members of the Board of Directors. They are not eligible to receive any of the major awards of the Association while serving as a member of the Board of Directors, unless there is a unanimous decision by the Board.


WSEHA has been recognizing award recipients since 1962.  The List of Awards are (for more information on each award, please see the WSEHA Awards Manual):


  • John P. Nordin Outstanding Sanitarian Award

  • Environmental Health Professional of the Year Award

  • Rookie of the Year Award

  • Jack B. Hatlen Presidents' Award

Know someone that you'd like to nominate for an award?