Student Scholarship Information

The Cind M. Treser Memorial Student Scholarship


The Cind Treser Memorial Student Scholarship program (formerly the Ed Pickett Memorial Student Scholarship) gives recognition to outstanding and deserving undergraduate students majoring in Environmental Health (or in an allied discipline) and who intend to take employment in the field of Environmental Health in Washington State upon completion of the baccalaureate degree requirements.


  • Be enrolled in a program accredited by the National Environmental Health Science and Protection Accreditation Council (EHAC), or have a curriculum comparable to the model curriculum recommended by the EHAC. Substantial coursework is required in the following areas: biology & microbiology, organic & inorganic chemistry, epidemiology, biostatistics, and environmental health topics.

  • Be a student member of WSEHA, or become a member upon receipt of the scholarship. (Click here to access the WSEHA Membership Application.)

  • Demonstrate his/her intent to become employed in the field of environmental health in Washington following graduation.

  • Be willing to submit a photograph if awarded the scholarship.

  • Intend to attend the WSEHA Annual Educational Conference to receive the scholarship award.

  • Preference will be given to students in their junior year.


Student Type

  • Sophomore

  • Junior

Citizen Type

  • US Citizen

  • Permanent Resident

  • International or Other Visa Status

  1. Student must fill out the Scholarship Application Form.

  2. Adviser, or other qualified individual that can comment on the student's academic performance, must complete the Scholarship Recommendation Form.


*Click on the button at the top of the page to access both of these forms.



Number of Awards: varies

Award Amount: Varies


March 15, 2019


2018 Scholarship  Winner

Kate Tokareva is a senior majoring in Environmental Health at the University of Washington School of Public Health. She impressed the scholarship award judges with her outstanding grades, glowing recommendation, and her volunteer work with Education Transforming Community Health (ETCH) and with University District Street Medicine (UDSM).  She is currently working as an Undergraduate Research Assistant in the Center for Health and the Global Environment on a partner project with the World Health Organization (WHO) that involves creating country profiles for small island developing states in the Pacific region in an effort to succinctly summarize their specific vulnerabilities with respect to climate change and health.

Questions?  Contact us!



Megan McNelly, Executive Secretary                            


Chuck Treser, UW- retired                                             


Larry French, DOH- retired                                            

© 2020 WSEHA. Proudly created with